Phl to Extend Visa-Free Privilege from 21 to 30 Days

29 July 2013 – Beginning 01 August 2013, nationals from 151 countries with visa-free privilege can stay in the Philippines for up to 30 days from the previous period of 21 days.
The initiative, a product of inter-agency coordination among the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), Department of Tourism (DOT), Department of Justice (DOJ), Bureau of Immigration (BI) and National Intelligence Coordinating Agency (NICA), aims to facilitate the entry and stay of foreign nationals who plan to engage in tourism activities or explore the Philippines as an investment destination.
“This move will hopefully encourage more tourists and investors to visit and stay in the Philippines by removing the need for them to report to immigration offices for a stay of up to a month. It will also give them more flexibility in planning and managing their schedules,” said Assistant Secretary Jaime Victor Ledda of the Office of Consular Affairs.
Qualified foreign nationals who intend to avail of the visa-free privilege only need to present a national passport valid for at least six (6) months beyond the contemplated stay and an onward ticket.

A list of the countries eligible for the visa-free privilege may be obtained from the DFA website at Brazil and Israel remain eligible for 59-day visa-free entry in line with existing bilateral agreements with the Philippines.